

Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Open 50 Mile Time Trial



Sunday 21st May 2023

Incorporating the SB Sports Injuries Shropshire 50 mile Championship and Round 6 of the SCCA Friction & Hydraulics Points Series

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its Rules & Regulations

Course: D350/1 **Start Time:** 07:00

Timekeepers: Dave York (start), Jenny York (finish)

Event secretary: Simon Evans, 44 Bromley Road, Shrewsbury SY3 5AZ

Tel: 01743 353671 email: ruralwales@gmail.com

Headquarters: Wollerton Bowls and Social Club, Wollerton near Hodnet, Shropshire,

post code TF9 3NE. Open from 06:00

COMPETITOR'S NOTES

CTT Regulation 17d - each competitor must sign on when collecting <u>and returning</u> their race numbers at the HQ. Any rider not signing off within a reasonable time of the finish of the event will be recorded as DNF.

Both arm and back numbers must be worn for the event. Single arm numbers must be worn on the left upper arm and be visible to the timekeepers. Large numbers must be fixed to the lower back area. There will be number checkers on the course. Any rider whose number is not visible to the timekeeper and checkers may not be given a finishing time. Make sure you shout your number at the finish.

Directions to Headquarters

On A53 approx. 2.2 miles from Tern Hill RAB towards Espley RAB, turn right at sign for Wollerton. Follow lane for 0.6 mile, turn right at circular brick animal pound and follow Mill Lane for 0.3 mile over old railway bridge and HQ is immediately on your right. If travelling East from Espley RAB, Wollerton Lane turn is after approx. 1.2 miles on the left.

Please do not wear wearing cycling shoes inside the headquarters.

Distance from HQ to start is 5.1 miles so allow adequate time.

Roadside Parking

Do not park at or near the start or finish locations due to limited space. There is lots of room to park on the open ground on the south side of Espley RAB, 3.1 miles from the start and 1.2 miles from the finish.

CTT Regulations 14(i), 14(j), 15: COMPULSORY LIGHTS & HELMETS

No competitor will be allowed to start without a working white front light and red rear light, either flashing or constant, and fitted to their machine in a position clearly visible to other road users. All competitors must wear a properly affixed helmet which must be of hard/soft shell construction.

No lights or no helmet = no ride. This is non-negotiable.

CTT Regulations 19 (a): Competitors must not use ANY audio equipment except prescribed hearing aids. A competitor in breach of this regulation will be disqualified. Competitors must not use a mobile phone while mounted on their machine.

Liverpool District Local Regulation: Riders must not make 'U' turns within sight of start and finish. Any rider observed making a 'U' turn in contravention of this regulation could be disqualified from the event.

COVID-19 SAFETY

Please adhere to the latest Government guidelines including social distancing requirements at all times. **Do not attend if you feel ill in any way or if a family member has any symptoms**.

Please arrive at the start no more than 3 minutes before your start time and keep at least one bike length away from the rider in front. There will be no pusher-off at the start so all riders must start with one foot on the ground.

Riders' finish times will not be available at the event but will be published online via the CTT and SCCA websites as soon as possible. The HQ will be open for signing on and off and collecting and returning your race numbers only. Toilets are available at HQ but only for one person at a time and are not to be used as a changing facility.

D350/1 COURSE DESCRIPTION

Start at extreme north end of northbound lay-by north of Cold Hatton on A442 approximately 330 yards north of de-regulation speed limit sign.

Proceed north to Espley RAB (3.1 miles)

Take first exit onto A53 and proceed west towards Shawbury junction with Wytheford Road B5063 (8.5 miles)

Turn left onto B5063 and proceed south via Walton and High Ercall to Cotwall Bank mini roundabout (12.5 miles)

Continue south on B5063 to T-junction with Shawbirch Road (16.2 miles)

Turn left onto Shawbirch Road, go straight across the estate roundabout to Shawbirch roundabout (16.6 miles)

Take first exit onto A442 and proceed north to pass start at Cold Hatton lay-by to complete one circuit (22.9 miles)

Repeat for second circuit (45.8 miles)

Proceed north to Espley RAB (48.9 miles)

Take first exit onto A53 and proceed west towards Shawbury

Finish at eastern gatepost of field gateway on left hand side of road approx. 190 yards beyond juntion signposted to Lee Brockhurst (50.1 miles)

AWARDS Fastest Rider to hold the Curly Downs Trophy for one year

	Men	Women	Vet + on Std	
1 st	£30	£30	£30	
2 nd	£20	£20	£20	
3 rd	£15			

One Prize per Rider

AWARDS (SCCA Riders Only)

Fastest overall £15, Fastest female £15, Best Vet on Standard £15, Fastest Junior £15

RIDER LIST

No.	Name	Club	Start Time	Cat	Vet Std
6	Christopher Riley	Paramount CRT	07:06	MV	2:20:39
7	Jamie Pleavin	Liverpool Century RC	07:07	MV	2:19:38
8	Helen Tudor	Oswestry Paragon CC	07:08	FV	2:34:03
9	Victoria Doran	Wrekinsport CC	07:09	FV	2:28:30
10	Mat Ivings	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	07:10	MV	2:18:40
11	Colin Parkinson	South Western Road Club	07:11	MV	2:24:54
12	Chris Lea	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	07:12	MV	2:24:13
13	Aidy Key	Total Tri Training	07:13	MV	2:18:13
14	Linda Beckett	North Shropshire Wheelers	07:14	FV	2:31:19
15	Jonathan Mills-Keeling	Bridgnorth Cycling Club	07:15	MV	2:18:40
16	Ben Love	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:16	MV	2:16:06
17	Robbie Disney	Ludlow CC	07:17	М	
18	Martin Sturge	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:18	MV	2:21:45
19	Geraint Catherall	Anfield BC	07:19	MV	2:18:13
20	Alastair Ribbands	Congleton CC - MyWindsock	07:20	М	
21	Neil Hughes	Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club	07:21	М	
22	James Neale	North Shropshire Wheelers	07:22	MV	2:15:43
23	Deb Hutson-Lumb	Wrekinsport CC	07:23	FV	2:36:37
24	lan Casson	Birkenhead Victoria CC	07:24	MV	2:32:30
25	Tim Beardmore	Bridgnorth Cycling Club	07:25	MV	2:19:09
26	Paul Duncan	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	07:26	MV	2:16:30
27	Matthew Collins	Liverpool Century RC	07:27	MV	2:15:19
28	Vernon Schutte	Farnborough & Camberley CC	07:28	MV	2:31:30
29	Chris Lawson	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:29	MV	2:22:56
30	David James Williams	Velotik Racing Team	07:30	MV	2:16:06
31	Alan Broadbent	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:31	MV	2:18:13
32	Liam Ferris	Port Sunlight Wheelers	07:32	MV	2:20:39
33	Jonathan Whittaker	Army Cycling	07:33	М	
34	John Westhead	Paramount CRT	07:34	MV	2:28:44
35	Jon Shepherd Smyth	Manchester Triathlon Club	07:35	М	
36	Richard Gadsden	Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club	07:36	М	
37	Joanna Cebrat	360cycling	07:37	FV	2:28:56
38	lan Hawkins	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:38	MV	2:21:12
39	Richard Warren	Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club	07:39	MV	2:18:40
40	Toby Williams	Velotik Racing Team	07:40	M	
41	Andrew Askwith	Vive Le Velo	07:41	MV	2:22:56
42	Barry Murphy	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:42	MV	2:15:43
43	Gary Maoudis	Chester RC	07:43	MV	2:20:08
44	Jonathan Tyler	Clwb Beicio Egni Eryri	07:44	MV	2:14:34
45	Victor Chetta	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	07:45	MV	2:16:30
46	Jake Turner	Mersey Tri	07:46	М	
47	Robert McGregor	Paramount CRT	07:47	М	
48	Arthur Winstanley	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	07:48	MV	2:28:44
49	Mike Walker	Congleton CC - MyWindsock	07:49	MV	2:16:06
50	Alexander Royle	Manchester Bicycle Club	07:50	М	